Roger Federer beats Marin Cilic to win eighth Wimbledon title

Written by Neha Monga
July 17, 2017  

On Sunday, the world saluted Roger Federer, the greatest of all times, when he defeated Croatian Marin Cilic to become the first man to win Wimbledon eight times. The Swiss maestro who won the 18th Grand Slam at Australian Open in January this year bettered his Grand Slam title count to 19.

Federer last won the Wimbledon in 2012 and waited for five years to lift the trophy again. “I always believed that I could maybe come back and do it again. And if you believe, you can go really, really far in your life, and I did that,” Federer said. “And I’m happy I kept on believing and dreaming and here I am today for the eighth. It’s fantastic.”

SEE ALSO :  Shikhar Dhawan dropping out of 3 ODI’s vs Australia to look after his unwell wife

With this win, Federer also became Wimbledon’s oldest men’s winner, thus proving that age is just a number. The final game which lasted for 101 minutes saw Federer win 6-3, 6-1 and 6-4 against Marin Cilic who continued playing till the end of the game despite a badly blistered foot. Emotions ran high on the final day of Wimbledon as teary-eyed Federer waved to the crowd and to his family after winning the eight Wimbledon title. The Swiss who beat Cilic in three sets straight said “It feels magical, winning this tournament without dropping a set. It’s just too much, I can’t believe it.”

SEE ALSO :  Zaheer Khan- Sagarika Ghatge’s grand reception was a star-studded affair

Cilic, who was playing his first Wimbledon final said “it was definitely one of the unfortunate days for me for this to happen. I had a really bad blister and fluid came down into the callus,” the 28-year-old said. “It was tough emotionally because I know how much went into the preparation in the past few months.”

Federer applauded Cilic for his effort. “It’s cruel sometimes,” he said, “but you’re a hero. Be proud of yourself, hope we can play again down the road in better times.”

With this win, Federer surpassed Pete Sampras and William Renshaw who won their seventh titles in 2000 and 1889 respectively.

SEE ALSO :  Indian Cricketer Ambati Rayudu punches senior citizen, gets trolled


Top News